Blogging my way to getting MOORE outta life!



Until Now I Had No Idea!

At the end of the most surreal week of my life, crowded with a myriad of thoughts, feelings & emotions that need to be expressed, blogging seems like the most logical thing to do (at 5am on a Monday morning).  It’s been almost a week since my little one was born and I had no idea that my life could be so blessed (even though this little angel took her mother on a hard road to get here)…

Through my pregnancy & childbirth I’ve wondered why there are so many things that us women don’t know about.  Things that we don’t tell each other.  The yukky stuff.  The embarrassing stuff.  The painful stuff.  And I’m not at all talking about the cliches that we see in movies.  I’m talking about the things that YOU (unless you’ve had a baby) don’t know.  My original plan for this blog was to ‘shed some light’, so that the next woman who has a baby won’t be shocked to learn that every midwife that enters her room will ask “can I check your pad?”  (SAY WHAT NOW??!!)

But as I’ve jumped on here to document my labour horror story (and yes, we all have one) I’ve realised why no one talks about it.  I’ve realised why us women don’t feel the need to elaborate on the gross aspects.  Why we don’t tell each other what labour contractions really feel like…  The reason why we don’t is quite simple…  We’ve forgotten.  Or more to the point…  It doesn’t matter!!

I find it so amazing that Stephen and I have created another being.  A tiny little human being that will walk the earth as we have done.  A pair of feet that will forge their own way one day.  A pair of feet that will make footprints in the sand.  A pair of feet that will run and play and fall.  A pair of feet that will one day wear high heels.  A human being!…

It seems so hard to believe.

Until now, my life has always been about me.  Just me.  My goals.  My dreams.  My desires.  Others have been in my life, but never entirely in my heart…  The love that I feel for her is impossible to describe.  As I watch her sleep I whisper to her to have happy dreams and to pass her bad ones to me.  Almost every minute of the day I find myself stroking her face and telling her how beautiful she is.  I have no idea how many times I have kissed her face, her head, her neck.  If she’s uncomfortable, I rock her in my arms for as long as it takes, ignoring the pains in my back and my belly.  I keep her close to me, having daytime naps together on the couch, her head to my chest, her ear to my heart.

So as I start to type, wanting to let you in on all the difficulties of childbirth, I realise that all I can think about is that petite little face that was, less than half an hour ago, attached to my breast making soft little grunts of contentment.  Those tiny little hands that grip my finger, my hair, my clothes, my heart.  That warm, round little tummy with the sticky out belly button.  Those strong little legs that kick, kick, kick.  That soft hair tickling my lips, my chin, my cheek as this little one snuggles into my neck.  And those feet.  Oh my golly gosh.  Those tiny little feet.


Comments

  1. * Troy loves Rebekka says:

    Congratulations to the both of you! :)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Frank says:

    Wow how beautiful

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Lynnette says:

    What a great post. You are truly blessed Emma and I wish all the happiness and joy!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Kelly G says:

    I’ve only shared my birth stories with other mothers, NOT females that are ever planning to have children in the future! No one would ever want to have kids! Time does make the memory fade but I can still remember walking around shortly after giving birth to Noah and it physically hurt to look at pregnant women because I KNEW what they were in for.. but now I look at both my babies and would do it all over again in a heartbeat!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
  5. * maria papas says:

    dear emma

    congratulations on the birth of your precious
    girl…!
    and welcome to the Club!!

    i am so happy that you are finding it blissful

    (what is your girl’s name)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 1 month ago
    • * gimmem00re says:

      My baby’s name is Nylah Ashley Martin… She is just divine!!

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

